Joiepirkey's Weblog

A Word in Due Season

Methodist Trial of Pastor Amy DeLong next door.

  Okay so here’s the scoop: On Wisconsin Avenue in Kaukauna, right next door to where I am staying while in the U.S. (which I do not see as a coincidence), they are holding a trial of Pastor Amy DeLong who is a practicing homosexual and in 2009 married a gay couple in her church in Polk County.  Someone came to the door two days ago handing out a blue pamphlet saying that “love was on trial”.  I spoke to the elderly gentleman and the middle aged woman who was with him about what the Methodist Church believed.  ‘Don’t ask don’t tell’ is what they said.  However, I believe that what they actually teach is that a person who has homosexual ideations is no different in the eyes of God than a person who desires to have heterosexual sex outside of the context of marriage meaning sin is sin.  If they abstain from acting out on those temptations they can remain in the ministry.  So when Pastor Amy married the gay couple, also against the Methodist beliefs, she was in effect thrusting herself into the spot light and taking her gay agenda into this trial. As the two who came to the house stood talking to me on the front porch I saw a demon approach and rest on the head of the women.  This isn’t as unusual as many might think but when hundreds followed they distracted me so much so that I had to apologize by saying I was distracted and then looked back at them wondering if they were for or against homosexuality in the Church.  It wasn’t aware until I read the flyer that they were out taking this opportunity to promote the gay agenda, web site and all.

When I went back in the house my niece asked me what they wanted and I handed her the flier and said “Randi I don’t think is a coincidence that that trial is next door and we are here with this big yard facing them. Let’s make a sign.”  “Saying what!” she responded with so much enthusiasm I laughed.  “When that many demons show up Sug’ you fight fire with fire.”  I told her as I headed for the garage.  “What is that supposed to mean?”  She asked as she followed me.  “We fight the devil with the word of God!”  So I pulled out a big long white box and printed “Timothy 1:10” on it and then added a heart that says “Freedom for Everyone”.

Shortly after we placed the sign on the front porch hundreds of cars began to pull up and fill the large parking lot and then spill out onto the street, both sides and both ways.  I watched as maybe a 100 or so people gathered just feet from our house and began to sing hymns.  As I listened closely things were being said and sung like “we are gay and straight together, we are loving and peaceful…” and so on.  I walked over to talk to them and they told me that the entire crowed was for the Pastor and the gay movement.  I heard little boys on bikes stop and say, “I would let her stay being a Pastor!”  I spoke to neighbors walking by asking what the sign meant almost all voicing the same sentiments or asking questions and not letting me know what they felt.  One older gentleman said “the Bible says homosexuality is a sin, I hope everything works out, I think I’ll go home and pray about this a little”.  I find that perspective is in the elderly but it is passing and the Church itself is at fault.

I am sitting out front in the yard because we always sit out front and it’s beautiful outside.  But I am also sitting out here being available to anyone walking by.  A number of media trucks are here.  Channel 11, Channel 26, Channel 5, a Post Crescent Reporter to name a few.  It’s a hot topic and people have strong feelings both ways.  The very sad thing is I am the only person here, outside making any kind of stand for the Word of the God and it brings me to tears really.  Where are the people who have God’s heart on this matter?  Loving these people enough to speak the truth in love as Ephesians 4 calls us to do?  Oop here come NBC.

Timothy 1:10 is crystal clear listing homosexuality as a sin.  Here let me quote it, “8 But we know that the Law is good, if one uses it lawfully, 9 realizing the fact that law is not made for a righteous person, but for those who are lawless and rebellious, for the ungodly and sinners, for the unholy and profane, for those who kill their fathers or mothers, for murderers 10 and immoral men and homosexuals and kidnappers and liars and perjurers, and whatever else is contrary to sound teaching, 11 according to the glorious gospel of the blessed God, with which I have been entrusted.”  The Greek word Paul uses to literally explain sex between two men is “arsenokoites (pl. arsenokoitai)”.  For anyone doing honest exegesis there is only one loud and clear meaning for this word, ‘sex between two men’.

It is 3:00 and all the people outside signing and supporting this gay agenda rushed inside because they were told the verdict was about to be read.  13 clergy men from the Methodist Church are sitting in judgement over this situation and their choice today has huge ramifications.  I am sitting here writing but I think I will take a moment to pray and seek God and ask Him to intervene and speak to these men on the jury and strengthen them and help them make the tough choice to choose God and His headship.  Will you please agree with me as I pray?

June 22, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | 9 Comments